Club Champions crowned

Warburton Golf Club''s Mens Open Champion, Andrew Williams.

By Ron Hottes

Over the last month, Warburton Golf Club conducted its annual Club Championships.

The club’s hard-working match committee ensured a smooth process, with no hiccups.

Another positive was the healthy fields of over 60 through all four rounds.

There were some impressive scores throughout the grades and even more unimpressive ones.

The one point of agreement was the universal praise for the condition of the course.

The club’s open champion went to Andrew Willians who claimed his ninth title.

Andrew snared the title with a brilliant 67 off-the-stick in the last round after scores of 74, 74 and 75.

He won it by six shots from Paul Mason, another nine-times winner, who was very consistent during the month but couldn’t find that sub-par round that Andrew did.

Paul is also the Green’s Superintendent at the club, which means he starts course preparation very early each Saturday morning before he plays.

Adam Patrick filled the third spot after leading for the first three rounds.

The Nett Open winner was David Hatt, with an excellent 286.

The Ladies Open Champion this year was again Kim Kennedy who shot 80, 77 and 76, for a gross of 223.

Kim has won four times now. Meredith Nursey won the Nett section with a low 217.

The club’s B-Grade champion was 14-year-old Harrison Baxter, who impressed everyone with his maturity and course management during the four rounds.

His scores of 82, 78, 85 and 81, for a 326 total, gave him the title by three shots.

Darren Wyatt chased him all four rounds and got within one shot on the last day, but Harry’s steady play shone through.

B-Grade Nett was taken out by Darren, with a 283 total, rewarding his consistency.

The club’s C-Grade winner, Peter Bell, had this title wrapped up after Round 2.

His scores of 89, 87, 91 and 93, resulting in a 360 total, was the lowest winning C-Grade score for many years.

Consequently, Peter won by a massive 16 shots.

Tex Van Der Kooi was runner-up and his 98, 95, 91, 92 (376) would have won in previous years.

Tex can be pleased that his Nett 293 total won him the Nett C-Grade title.

The club only had a small field contesting the junior title and because Harrison grabbed the B-Grade title, he couldn’t win this one too.

Liam Kay collected this title with scores of 82, 84, 100 and 82.

The club congratulated Captain Cross and his match committee and thanked Paul and Nick for their efforts in establishing such a superb course.

Members will now look forward to next year with great anticipation.

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.