Hat tricks aplenty

By Keith Thompson,
YARRA Valley Cricket started for the new year on Saturday with the top three grades taking the field, and hat tricks to order of the day it would seem, in the D.J. Strachan Shield.
Seville were dismissed for just 98 with Leigh Aitkens 38 while Darren Edwards grabbed four wickets for just 17 runs. In reply Healesville were also in trouble but got over the line with 10 for 119, Scott Hamer 35 and Conner Regan took 5 for 18.
Hoddles Creek 10/154 S Davis 55, A. Crowhurst 4/10, S. Reynolds 3/39 lost to Silvan 9/199. Luke Painter 100no, Stu Simmonds 3/35.
Wandin lost 9 wickets at the end of their 40 over innings to be 213, Gary Frankovic falling just 4 runs short of a fine one day century with 96.
He was assisted by Troy Murphy with 52. Luke Sarre 3/37 and Matt Tilney 4/31, including a hat trick, bowled well for Gruyere District.
In reply, they could only manage 139 all out, Matt Tilney completing a good day with a 50n.o., Andrew Vassallo 30, Jesse Wright 4/24 and also completing a good day out was Gary Frankovic with 3 for 13.
Woori Yallock 2/259cc, Andrew Sharp 128 n.o., Greg Selby 66, P. Broussard 40, Launching Place United 8/167cc Hugh Wadsworth 36 Cam Hoare 32, Ben Hayes 3/24, R. Steggles 3/45.
Coldstream were all out for 145 with Liam Doughty getting a fine 60 while Chris Doyle took 3/13 and Kane Jones 3/34 lost to Mt Evelyn 154, Ben Thiele 74, Chris Doyle also in the runs with 48, L. Lambert 4/38, Shane Walliker 3/22.
Yarra Junction 130, David Lever 29 Chris Fall 25n.o., Ben Lever 23, Cam Darwell 3/26 and Adam Humphries 2/22 lost to Warburton Millgrove 8/137, Tim McKaill 54n.o., Brad Jones 4/33 including hat trick David Lever 3/25.

@BT Sport Sub Mail:R.A. Finger Trophy

Seville 9/164, P Smith 47. Woori Yallock 4/170 R. Smith 61n.o., M. Dwyer 68n.o.
Warburton/Millgrove 8 for 117, Daniel Hadjer 29n.o., Norm Spackman 3/9 lost to Yarra Junction 7/180 Mick Nightingale 54, M.Haggar 40.
Wandin 7/173 def Yarra Glen 9/155 Jack Bayliss 56n.o., Jarrod Bayliss 32, Justin Mays 3/29, Adam Oxley 2/22.